Web Content Display Web Content Display

Photo: Anja Weber

Web Content Display Web Content Display

New exhibition

Polo R WRC

World Rally Championship winner 2015

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Five overall victories and a world championship title – the Polo R WRC with chassis number 25 was the key to success in the 2015 World Rally Championship for Volkswagen factory driver Sébastien Ogier. The Autostadt in Wolfsburg is showcasing the winning car until early May on the ground floor of the ZeitHaus museum.

The car on display is a loan from Volkswagen Motorsport. It competed in twelve FIA ​​World Rally Championship events in the 2015 and 2016 seasons. Sébastien Ogier won five of these races – including the legendary Monte Carlo Rally – with this World Rally Car in 2015 and celebrated his third consecutive world title. Together with co-driver Julien Ingrassia, the Frenchman also scored important points for the prestigious Manufacturer's Championship title for Volkswagen. The 2016 season finale in Wales was the last rally for the Polo R WRC with chassis number 25.

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Volkswagen dominated the World Rally Championship from 2013 to 2016. Together with three outstanding driver teams, the redeveloped Polo R WRC laid the foundation for success and 43 overall victories for the Volkswagen Motorsport team. The company's WRC involvement spawned four World Championship titles each in the driver, co-driver, and manufacturer's categories.

During the Polo R WRC development phase from 2011 to 2013, Volkswagen engineers were supported by Dakar winner Carlos Sainz and German Rally Champion Dieter Depping. With 621 best times in 935 special stages, the Volkswagen Polo R WRC is still regarded as the best rally car in WRC history.

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Foto: Anja Weber

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Aktuelle Ausstellung

Polo R WRC

Der Rallye-Weltmeister 2015 im ZeitHaus

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Fünf Gesamtsiege und ein Weltmeistertitel: Der Polo R WRC mit der Chassis-Nummer 25 war der Garant für die Erfolge von Volkswagen Werkspilot Sébastien Ogier in der Rallye-Weltmeisterschaft im Jahr 2015.

Das ausgestellte Exponat ist eine Leihgabe von Volkswagen Motorsport und kam in den Jahren 2015 und 2016 während zwölf Läufen der FIA Rallye-Weltmeisterschaft zum Einsatz. Sébastien Ogier gewann allein 2015 mit diesem World Rallye Car fünf davon – darunter auch die legendäre Rallye Monte Carlo – und feierte am Ende seinen dritten Weltmeistertitel in Serie. Zusammen mit seinem Beifahrer Julien Ingrassia sicherte der Franzose in jener Saison zudem wichtige Punkte für den prestigeträchtigen Konstrukteurstitel der Marke Volkswagen. Seine letzte Rallye bestritt der Polo R WRC mit der Chassis-Nummer 25 beim Saisonfinale 2016 in Wales.

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Volkswagen dominierte von 2013 bis 2016 die Rallye-Weltmeisterschaft. Neben drei guten Fahrer-Paarungen legte vor allem der seinerzeit komplett neu entwickelte Polo R WRC den Grundstein für den Erfolg und die insgesamt 43 Gesamtsiege der Mannschaft von Volkswagen Motorsport. Insgesamt verbuchten die Wolfsburger während ihres Engagements in der WRC jeweils vier WM-Titel in der Fahrer-, Beifahrer-, und Konstrukteurswertung.

In der Entwicklungsphase des Polo von 2011 bis 2013 standen den Ingenieuren unter anderem der Dakar-Sieger Carlos Sainz und der deutsche Rallyemeister Dieter Depping mit ihren Erfahrungen zur Seite. Bis heute gilt der Volkswagen Polo R WRC auch aufgrund seiner 621 Bestzeiten bei 935 Wertungsprüfungen als das beste Rallye-Fahrzeug der WRC-Geschichte.